

Preliminary Announcement of 1st Asia-Pacific Conference on Plasma Physics (AAPPS-DPP2017)

Oct-11, 2016

International Organizing Committee AAPPS-DPP 2017



AAPPS-DPP executive committee (M. Kikuchi, chair) decided to organize the 1st Asia-Pacific Conference on Plasma Physics (AAPPS-DPP2017 in short). This conference will be the general plasma physics conference in Asia-Pacific region, similar to the APS-DPP and EPS-DPP conferences on plasma physics.

(1) Scope of the AAPPS-DPP2017:

AAPPS-DPP2017 is a plasma physics conference under the authority of AAPPS-DPP for scientific discussions on plasma physics. This conference should be physics oriented and provide interdisciplinary and in-depth discussions among and in various fields of plasma physics and application.

(2) Organization:

Conference organizer: AAPPS-DPP

Endorsed by: CPS-DPP, KPS-DPP, PSSI, JPS-DPP

(3) Date:

September 18(Mon) -22(Friday)

(4) Conference Venue: Chengdu city, China

(5) International Organizing Committee (IOC)

IOC Chair: Liu Chen (Zhejiang University, Vice Chair, AAPPS-DPP)

IOC Co-chair: Mitsuru Kikuchi (QST, Chair, AAPPS-DPP)

IOC members:

Fundamental: CS. Liu (MO), Z. Yoshida (JP), C.Z. Cheng (TW), P. Diamond (US/China), S. Guenter (EU), S. Prager (US), TS Hahm (KO)

Basic: S. Liu (CN), K.R. Chu (TW), Y. Ono (JP), CS Chang (US), Lin I (TW), W. Choe (KO), OH Chin (MY), A. Sen (IN)

Applied: Y. Pu (CN), M. Hori (JP), PK Chu (HK), SJ Yoo (KO), R. Boswell (AU), A.

Gangul (IN), SH Saw (MY), M. Nisoa (TH), Deepak P. Subedi(NP), M. Shiratani (JP)

Laser: X. He (CN), K. Mima (JP), R. Kodama (JP), CH Nam (KO), P. Kaw (IN), S.

Jacquemot (EU), ZM Sheng (CN)

Space: M. Hoshino (JP), B. Buti (IN), Y. Lin (US), Lin Ni Hau (TW), T. Hada (JP), LC Lee (TW)

Solar/Astro: D. Ryu (KO), A. Chaudhuri (IN), H. Ji (US), K. Shibata (JP)

Magnetic Fusion: X. Duan (CN), T. Morisaki (JP), H. Park (KO), D. Bora (IN), M. Hole (AU), T. Onjun (TH), A. Donne (EU), B. Wan (CN)

DPP chairs: XG Wang (CPS-DPP), H. Suk (KPS-DPP), R. Pal (PSSI), Y. Uesugi (JPS-DPP)

LOC: Yong Liu (CN)

AAPPS: Jie Zhang (CN), Nguyen Quang Liem (VN)

"Fundamental" covers 1. Mathematical plasma physics, 2. MHD and Reconnection, 3. Kinetic MHD, 4. Plasma turbulence, 5. Gyro kinetic, 6. NC transport, 7. Turbulent transport, 8. Current Drive, 9. Relativistic plasma physics, etc. "Basic" covers 1. Diagnostics, 2. Simulation, 3. A&M in plasma for astro/solar/space, laser, low temp and fusion applications, 4. Strongly coupled plasma, 5. Non-neutral plasma, 6. Quantum plasma, 7. Plasma propulsion, 8. Plasma source and plasma heating system, 9. Plasma material interaction, etc.

AAPPS-DPP



(6) Local Organizing Committee (LOC)

LOC Chair: Xuru Duan (SWIP)

(7) Scientific Program

General PC chair: M. Kikuchi

Scientific program will be categorized into following 7 fields having following 7 PC chairs in each field.

F. Fundamental plasma : TS Hahm (KO) chair В. Basic plasma : A. Sen (IN) chair Applied plasma A. : M. Shiratani (JP) chair Laser plasma L. : ZM Sheng (CN) chair Space plasma : LC Lee (TW) chair S. SA. Solar/Astro plasma : K. Shibata (JP) chair MF. Magnetic fusion plasma : B. Wan (CN) chair

(8) Basic Structure of Scientific Program

Conference will from Monday (18 Sept.) to Friday (22 Sept.). Morning sessions will be plenary session (no parallel session) in principle which may include ~ 30 plenaries. There will be 2017 S. Chandrasekhar Prize selection before the conference and the winner will be the first plenary speaker. Afternoon session will be dedicated for parallel sessions. Number of invited speakers is ~ 160 of above 7 fields. Number of orals will be decided according to the number of contributed abstracts. There will be DPP young research award.

Details of the conference will be announced later.

October 4, 2016

International Organizing Committee Chair: Liu Chen

Co-chair: M. Kikuchi

Local Organizing Committee Chair: Xuru Duan